Books I read in 2020

So, if you know me, then you’ll know I’ve loved to read ever since I went with my parents on a missions trip when I was eleven. I liked when my parents would read to me or when I would listen to audiobooks before then, but sitting down and reading a book myself was somthing I never really enjoyed, until that summer of 2017. Since then I have loved reading and always set TBR (To Be Read) goals when a new year comes around. I wouldn’t say I’m a fast reader at all, it’s hard for me to just sit and read a book in one setting, but in 2020 I read just under 50 and came across some books that have made their way onto my Top Favorite Books Ever list! I hope to do more in depth posts on some of my favorites out of this list, but for now, if you’re looking for some good books to read, you can browse these and do some research of your own! 😋

I rated each book out of 5 stars, and also have in bold my top favorites out of the ones I read last year. A few of them also have some side notes too just to give you a little heads up before you go research the book to see if it’s one you’d read 🙂

Alas! My 2020 year in books…

  • All-Of-A-Kind-Family #3 – 5/5
  • Keeper of the Lost Cities #8 – 5/5
  • The Wild Robot – 2/5
  • The First Fowler – 5/5
  • Tumtum and Nutmeg – 5/5
  • The Martyr’s Song – 5/5
  • This Present Darkness – 5/5
  • Black – 5/5
  • Prisoner of Ice and Snow – 5/5
  • The Willoughbys – 2/5
  • Finding Home – 5/5
  • Flowers in the Gutter – 5/5 (NOTE: This book I loved for the fact that it was all about WW2 History, but there is language used in it I do not think is applicable)
  • The Torch Keepers – 5/5
  • The Secret of the Hidden Scrolls #2 – 5/5
  • The Penderwicks at Last – 5/5
  • Brian’s Hunt – 5/5
  • Gathering Blue – 4/5
  • The Boy in the Striped Pajamas – 5/5
  • Double – 5/5 (NOTE: This book kept me on the edge of my seat, but there is scenes young readers or those who dont like much violence would not enjoy. There is also some language used that I don’t approve of)
  • Messenger – 5/5
  • The Whispers God Gives – 5/5
  • Jesus Freaks – 5/5
  • Beloved – 5/5
  • The Moffats – 3/5
  • The Secret of the Hidden Scrolls #3 – 5/5
  • Son – 5/5
  • Phantom Thief (Aka Simon Lee) – 5/5
  • Keeper of the Lost Cities #1 – 5/5
  • Just David – 5/5
  • The Vanderbeekers Lost and Found – 5/5
  • Christmas Hostage – 5/5
  • Breadcrumbs – 4/5
  • Up From Slavery – 5/5
  • Obsessed – 5/5 (NOTE: This book is so good but there are violent scenes probably not appeasing to younger readers)
  • A Father’s Promise – 4/5
  • Keeper of the Lost Cities #8.5 – 5/5
  • Crazy Love – 5/5
  • Red Rover, Red Rover – 5/5 (Entire series was a favorite;))
  • Plan to Fail – 5/5
  • Bad Things, Small Packages – 5/5
  • Love Needs No Words – 2/5 (NOTE: This book had too much romance for my liking. There was nothing bad/innapropriate, just not a book I enjoyed since romance is not a genre I care for:))
  • Farenheit 451 – 5/5 (NOTE: There is some fowl language used)
  • Master Minds – 5/5
  • Tutor, Nanny, Spit-up, Spy – 5/5
  • Kind – 2/5

My reading goal for this year is 50 books, as once summer hits I have a feeling I’ll be pretty busy on the farm 😉

Have a good week!

Have you read any of these books? Do you have any book suggestions? Let me know in the comments!

4 thoughts on “Books I read in 2020

Leave a comment